TWO OLDER POEMS

I wanted to get some content on here quickly, so I’ll begin by posting two poems that I had published fourteen years ago. I was taking a few classes at IUPUC at the time, foolishly thinking I could pursue an associates degree in Psychology, work a full-time job with the U.S. Postal Service, and still manage to have some semblance of a family life.Though I was sober during this period, I was still depressed at times, and I think it comes through in the lonely tales of Miranda and the nursing home resident.

These two poems were published in IUPUC’s annual” Literalines ” magazine of student writers in 1997. I received a lot of positive feedback for these poems and that gave me confidence to begin submitting my stuff on a larger scale.

TRUCKSTOP    by Jeffrey Littrell

Miranda

waits tables,

waiting on her destiny

to walk through the door

she counts

thirty-six bucks in tips tonight

locks up

and sits alone

then slides

a dollar into the jukebox

to block out everything

man, that Garth can sing

Miranda

walks across the linoleum floor

and stares

out the grease-stained window at a star

SO LIKE AN ABANDONED SHIP  by Jeffrey Littrell

the nurse greets her

with phony cheerfulness

moving

the wheelchair to the window

she’s left alone

to stare at traffic

while flies

buzz around her untouched lunch tray

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

Leave a Reply

