MURAL OF LIFE ( EXPRESSIONISM ) by Jeffrey Littrell

perhaps I should be painting

expressing your brash insolence

while dripping tears

onto a canvas, pure and white

covering you in stark, vivid hues

splashing silver stars

onto the indigo night above you

as the brittle chambers of my heart

are cracking

 

instead I sit here mourning

ties left behind, unraveled

the roads I never traveled

relationships dissolved and problems unresolved

in search of one connection

encountering rejection

from one whose wicked grin

betrays her enmity within

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

6 responses to “MURAL OF LIFE ( EXPRESSIONISM ) by Jeffrey Littrell

  • Lucia Rose

    I really like the way you capture this sadness and pain in such a beautiful way. Like painting a sad picture if you will, but still with such beautiful imagery (or words as you have so done here). I enjoy this piece.

  • Anne

    Some beautifully vivid lines here.

    Favourites:

    ‘ while dripping tears

    onto a canvas, pure and white

    covering you in stark, vivid hues

    splashing silver stars

    onto the indigo night above you

    as the brittle chambers of my heart

    are cracking’

    Fantastic!

  • Anne

    And you wrote it on my birthday too! 🙂

    • digthroughlife

      Thank you so much for all your kind comments ! Happy Belated Birthday ! I’ve always wanted to visit England. Everyone seems really cool. I keep clicking for Gravatar and WordPress to put a pic of me on there, but it never does. I’m fifty years old and I shave off what hair I have, so you’re not missing a great deal ! LOL I love to write, and aside from poetry, I’m also writing some humor essays in the vein of Dave Barry and Hunter S. Thompson, hopefully for a book at some point. I’m not blogging it, though. I also write sports for the website fantasycpr.com. Mostly feature articles. Sometimes under the name reservoirdog_jl ( I’m a Tarantino buff ). I would love to write music articles, too. I follow new music and know more classic and current rock than my two, twenty-plus year old sons. I divorced in 2000 and have stayed single. ( no one will have me ) I am on Facebook as Jeff Littrell in Westport, Indiana. If you do the Facebook thing, feel free to friend me. There are a couple of pics on there…. 🙂 You seem very nice, Anne. Have a great day, stay in touch, and keep writing those fascinating words !……..JEFF

Leave a Reply

