ENTRANCED by Jeffrey Littrell

bashfully smiling

her faded-denim blue eyes

hold my reflection

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

4 responses to “ENTRANCED by Jeffrey Littrell

  • stellawrote

    When the rustic haiku meets modern denim; the image here is just striking. I would give it another title, though; to avoid making it just “another haiku,” but a haiku in its own right with its own title. Denim eyes, beautiful.

    • digthroughlife

      Thanks so much, Stella ! You’re probably right, it does deserve a better title. I didn’t mean it to sound dismissive, but it does, I guess. It is only the second haiku that I’ve written in a very long time, so I was using that point of reference. Maybe I should give it a long, rambling title. Longer than the poem itself ! LOL Seriously, I will definitely give some thought to a new title. Maybe ” Stella ” ?? Do you have blue eyes ? 😉 Have a great evening and thank you for your comments and input. I like feedback and I enjoy making new friends. I love your blog and I can tell you know your stuff !….JEFF

      • stellawrote

        Hi, Jeff, as a matter of fact I do have blue eyes, but don’t name the haiku Stella! haha 😀 but do take some time and give it the proper title it deserves. i’m a big fan of haiku and this one appeals to me a great deal. it’s the perfect use of an old, traditional form for the modern expression of thought.

      • digthroughlife

        I was kidding ( a little ! ) about the title. 🙂 I’ll hit the edit button soon and give it a name befitting of your praise. Thanks Stella !

Leave a Reply

