remission, Rejection, RELAPSE by Jeffrey Littrell

 

left to bleed out

ignored and dismissed

like trash set out on the street

 

it is a world

for the confident, the beautiful

the stout of character

not the plain or disfigured

not the weak, crippled outcasts

 

hemorrhaging

coughing up anguish

with black bits of emotional bile

 

breaking down

still further down

with frailty as evident

as hair-line cracks

on a sparrow’s egg

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

2 responses to “remission, Rejection, RELAPSE by Jeffrey Littrell

  • Corinne Shields

    It can often seem like “a world for the confident, the beautiful, the stout of character”, but no-one really knows what goes on behind closed doors, do they?

    It always surprises me how many who appear all of those things on the outside are crumbling inside.

    Really enjoyed the post.

    • digthroughlife

      Thanks, Corrine ! Yes, everyone wears masks at times, don’t they ? I appreciate your visiting and I must say that I have talked with so many nice ladies from the UK. It must be something in the water, but you all have such nice dispositions ! lol Have a fantastic week and I will enjoy following your blog…..JEFF

Leave a Reply

