VAGABONDS RUNNING by Jeffrey Littrell

 

I’m driving back through Frankfort

on our East Kentucky run

Luis is on the throwaway

telling Vassar that we’re done

 

we both are tired of the game

and these Kentucky hills

a life of crime will change a man

moving smoke and meth and pills

 

at first you’re drawn in by the cash

and the adrenaline rush it brings

it sure as hell beats factory work

it’ll buy you many things

 

I met Luis six years ago

when he ran with the Latin Kings

we soon were friends, he shared with me

the perks that this life brings

 

we’re never in one place too long

we cover the mid-west states

in a cherry red Suburban

with stolen Arkansas plates

 

in southern Indiana

are my family and my friends

but everyday’s a blur

of Flying J’s and Comfort Inns

 

we’re driving out of Frankfort

very soon we will conspire

to swap out the Suburban

for my trusty old Sunfire

 

up ahead’s a roadblock

I can see the flashing red

it makes my heart jump in my throat

it fills me with such dread

 

everyday there is the chance

that this job is my last

I’m always running from the police

and my shameful outlaw past

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

One response to “VAGABONDS RUNNING by Jeffrey Littrell

Leave a Reply

