WHEN RAINDROPS TURN TO DIAMONDS by Jeffrey Littrell

 

when raindrops turn to diamonds

surrounded by the afterglow

of softly whispered secret

meant for only you to know

will you take me down the avenue

of your closely guarded sin

and show me deep inside yourself

to the pain you hold within

 

when starlight fades to blackness

and drapes me in itโ€™s shroud

will you hold me to your bosom

and speak every truth out loud

as laughter turns to magic

and tears to pearls, so bright

will you lift me from the gutter

and carry me into the light

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

3 responses to “WHEN RAINDROPS TURN TO DIAMONDS by Jeffrey Littrell

Leave a Reply

