COUNTING THE SCARS ( ACCEPTANCE ) by Jeffrey Littrell

it’s time I accepted the truth
you’ll never let anyone in
you’ll never be anyone’s friend
you’ll lie to the end
crushing those in your way

it’s no problem to walk away now
there’s no doubt that I’m better without
all the drama you bring,
it overshadows everything
and stains all you touch

it’s time I accepted the truth
some of us
are just born to lose
just destined to fall
and go through life at a crawl
brought down
by the likes of you

now every time
that I meet somebody new
I wonder if
she’ll hurt me like you
is she a cold bitch inside
with dirty secrets to hide ?
I’ll look deep into their eyes

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

4 responses to “COUNTING THE SCARS ( ACCEPTANCE ) by Jeffrey Littrell

  • fairytaleepidemic

    The eyes will tell you everything. And I like this piece, it resonates with me and I’ve met quite a few folks I’d like to say this to (men of course).

    • digthroughlife

      Thanks for your reply ! I’m glad you liked it, but sorry that you identify with it, dear ! LOL I guess most people are betrayed at one time or another, aren’t they ? I will look forward to more of your writing, too ! I don’t usually have the time to check out all of the blogs I follow, but I try to make a point of reading yours. Thanks again, my friend !

  • Miss Lou

    Hard, painful words.

    I’d like to say I have never felt this low, but that would be a lie.

    There have been moments I have felt powerless, like a victim, blaming all my pain and life’s troubles on the actions of someone else. They were low points, and thankfully did not last long.

    In my mind, it is when we take responsibility for what we can control – our own actions and our thoughts and feelings that we become empowered to remove ourselves from situations where we don’t feel like we belong. Situations where we do not feel we are being treated the way we would like an expect.

    We choose, and even the times we don’t choose and are victims of circumstance, we still choose how we decide to react and respond and think about it.

    Our minds and what we tell ourselves can make or break us.

    • digthroughlife

      Thank you for reading my work and responding ! When you have been beaten down as often as I, it is hard to dig your heels in for another go at a relationship. One more hurt of the magnitude I’ve suffered in recent years would definitely send me descending into a bitter depression. I’m safer and better off, to spare myself the inevitable disappointment, and just write about my feelings. It provides me escape and protection. 🙂

Leave a Reply

