FROM BLACK TO BLUE by Jeffrey Littrell

she’s half a world away from me
we’re separated by the sea
but linked in common love of art and rhyme

though she can’t meet my gaze
she knows how to turn a phrase
perhaps another place, another time

it brought about a smile
if only for awhile
before me was her visage in my dreams

in spirit and in heart
when two are far apart
it’s not so many miles as it seems

a drizzle falls down from the sky
the moon is ominous, hung high
I wonder, is she looking at it, too ?

the loneliness surrounds
as bitter tears stream down
the night begins to turn from black to blue

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

2 responses to “FROM BLACK TO BLUE by Jeffrey Littrell

  • fairytaleepidemic

    Strange thing… last night I was looking at the moon and I was hoping he was looking at it too. Saddened that we couldn’t be together, but at least we were in the same world that shared the same sky.

    • digthroughlife

      I’ll bet he was thinking the same of you, my friend. 🙂 Thanks for always reading my stuff. Sometimes I start to wonder if it’s any good or not, you know ? It helps my confidence when gifted writers and cool people appreciate it. Thanks again !…..JEFF

Leave a Reply

