As Beautiful As You by Jeffrey Littrell

 

sometimes when I stare

straight up at the night sky

the moon makes me smile

the stars make me cry

mountains rise up

and pierce the clouds through

but when your eyes flash like lightning

they’re not as beautiful as you

 

sometimes when I’m talking

with someone I just met

I’m holding on to a memory

trying hard to forget

their attention is fleeting

and their hearts not as true

they’re not as strong of a woman

they’re not as beautiful as you

 

I try to find words

that come from my heart

but to define my love

I don’t know where to start

trade winds blow

across oceans of blue

they’re not as constant as my love

they’re not as beautiful as you

 

 

 

 

 

About digthroughlife

I am a fifty-three year old poet who also writes fiction. I worked twenty-three years for the USPS, though never enthusiastically. I am a member of French Writers Worldwide and have had several poems published in French and Spanish. I hold strong opinions on music, film, and human rights. Some of my influences are Charles Bukowski, Arthur Rimbaud, Dylan Thomas, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan, Sylvia Plath, W.B Yeats, Bob Marley, William Blake, and Hunter S. Thompson. I'm an avid fan of the New York Yankees, Oakland Raiders, and Indiana Pacers. I like traveling by car. I enjoy seeing rock and alt-country bands in small venues. I hold a black belt in Taekwondo, but no longer spar due to injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I play acoustic guitar. I love Crown Royal whiskey and California Kush. Women are both the bane of my existence and all that sustains me. I believe strongly in the power of love and heartbreak. View all posts by digthroughlife

Leave a Reply

